Fagerlund's reviews

Here I will post my reviews, of mostly Metal concerts/festivals that I've been to.

Grave + General Surgery + Vicious Art, Stockholm 12/11-2011

Kategori: Concerts

Vicious Art
Sadly it was their last gig ever. It was time to end the world tour (consisting of three shows in Stockholm and one in Gävle over the last two years ;) ) and the band. I am happy I got to see them three times before they ended it though! I felt like this gig they were a bit off and not quite up to it though. It was like they knew it was the last time and couldn't quite put that extra bit into it - like they did the first time I saw them. Of course it didn't help that people didn't seem that into it either.
In either case it was still a very solid show with some great songs played! It was a great way to go out however, especially as in the last song they really stepped it up and killed! Hopefully we'll get to see the guys in new bands soon! Well, Jörgen will always be busy I suppose!

General Surgery
Second time I see this Death/Grind band and well, they're very good at what they're doing. I'm just not a big fan of Grind. Tonight they celebrated the 20 year anniversary of their first EP Necrology and thus played it in it's full for a starter of the gig.
Like I said Grind isn't really my thing, as it's mostly just the same over and over again. But I really did enjoy the intro song and also the song that I forgot the name of, where they brought out a guest vocalist, "Doktor Envall". That one had some more dynamics to it and not just pure bulldozer. Solid gig and very very tight, but a bit long for me.

Grave
Ah, then it was time to see Grave once again! This was the fifth time I saw them, and this one was a bit special as they were celebrating the 20 year anniversary of their first album, Into the Grave! Of course that meant they started the set by playing that album straight through. And it's one damn good album that holds so much great Death Metal in it which most new bands can't even hope to achieve during their careers. And they deliver live, as always!
I was a bit surprised that Jörgen Sandström didn't come up to play a song or two with them, but I suppose he was busy celebrating his birthday! So that's okay I guess. Hell, the crowd was so full of the Stockholm Death Metal scene that I think the guys who were there could form full sets of old Grave, Dismember and Entombed...! Maybe they decided to skip that since Grave was recording for a new DVD and album though, and to be honest... Grave doesn't really need any help on stage - they manage damn fine themselves!
Because it was a really nice gig, and a very special one! After they finished all the songs from Into the Grave they continued to play a couple of more really old songs in the form of Annihilated Gods and Eroded (all though Annihilated Gods has been re-recorded on Dominion VIII I suppose), and they even finished the set with a pre-Grave song from back when they were known as Corpse.  But hails to the oldschool!
I was also happy to see that it was sold out and the crowd was bringing it. The front rows was a bit of chaos, constantly shifting and headbanging. Good times! People should learn to stay off the stage though, or at least not mess with the equipment if they insist on going up there. Most of the chaos stayed in the pit though!
So thanks Grave for a great gig, and looking forwards to the next time when I guess there will be new stuff to show off!

Setlist:
Intro
Deformed
In Love
For Your God
Obscure Infinity
Hating Life
Into the Grave
Extremely Rotten Flesh
Haunted
Day of Mourning
Inhuman
Banished to Live

You'll Never See
Now and Forever
Eroded
Annihilated Gods
Black Dawn
Kommentera inlägget här: