Fagerlund's reviews

Here I will post my reviews, of mostly Metal concerts/festivals that I've been to.

Negură Bunget + Withershin + Din Brad, Stockholm 22/10-2011

Kategori: Concerts

Din Brad
First band of the night was this Romanian 3-piece folk music band. Two thirds of the band are also in Negura Bunget, and I guess that explains why they were there. Because honestly it didn't feel like they belonged there.
They did have a quite interesting set up to begin with, with only a single drum and a keyboard (the third member did only vocals). When they started playing I couldn't help but wonder if this was a bad joke or something, because the girls sang so false it sounded really horrible. They did pick it up though, and for the other four songs the vocals were better. That didn't really help much though because I can't imagine this kind of music in any live setting. I think however that they might sound all right on album, when the mood is right. Other than that, no thanks.

Withershin
Then it was time for the only remaining part of the original line up for this gig. Originally it was supposed to be a Black Metal show with Setherial and Valkyrja, unfortunately those two had to pull out but luckily we got some nice replacements!
This is a Swedish Black Metal band anyhow, and they play in the vein of old Watain. Or if you ask them, Watain stole everything from them. Whatever the truth of that they do have their similarities. All in all a very solid and well played set. You can tell that they've been around for a while and that they're serious about what they do. No real surprises though, but very well played and tight. It was pretty much what you expect from a Black Metal band live.

Negură Bunget
And then the headliner! Second time in Sweden, first time in Stockholm. Now they're celebrating 15 years as a band and I'm happy we got such a nice replacement for Setherial.
This was the second time that I saw them, the first time was at Hellfest last year. That time they had loads of technical problems but still managed to put up a great show anyway. And I remember thinking that it'd be fun to see them in at a smaller venue. I didn't really think I'd get the opportunity so soon though! So this night was kind of up to Negura Bunget to prove me right or wrong!
And to be honest they completely fulfilled my expectations. It was exactly like I'd imagine it to be. And luckily no technical problems this time! Extremely well played set, and it's interesting to see how they manage to mix those great guitar riffs with all those weird instruments (that they take turns playing) and make it work very well. Long songs that just wants to suck you into the atmosphere. And to help that they had brought a projector where they showed various nature pictures in the background. Very fitting.
One thing I don't really like is the singers style of just staring in front of him for the entire gig. It's obviously his thing and something he wants to do, but to me it just looks strange and kind of boring. But as long as he sings and plays his instruments well it's all right I suppose!
I'm also happy that quite many people showed up to this gig (around 100 people I'd guess), as it is quite obscure. But I want more of this stuff, so hopefully it shows there's interest for it so we get less bands skipping Stockholm in the future!

KOMMENTARER:

  • Hizon / Withershin säger:
    2011-10-26 | 13:43:27
    Bloggadress: http://withershin.se

    Fagerlund: We have never claimed that Watain stole anything from us. Did you read this somewhere or make it up yourself? In either case, it is not true.



    There are many differences between Withershin and Watain, musically and ideologically. We have never "stolen" anything from them, nor they anything from us.



    Try to stick to facts in the future.



    /Hizon, Withershin

    Svar: Oh, it was actually Nine who told me. Jokingly, just like I wrote it. Jokingly. Don't be so serious. :)
    Fagerlund

Kommentera inlägget här: