Fagerlund's reviews

Here I will post my reviews, of mostly Metal concerts/festivals that I've been to.

INSISION + Sordid Flesh, Stockholm 29/12-2012

Kategori: Concerts

Sordid Flesh
Second time I see these northern Death Metallers. Before they played I thought to myself "How did they sound again?". I guess that's a pretty good summary of what they do, because they don't really stand out. They do a really solid style, they sound good, they have good songs, a good mixture between fast and pretty groovey, varied vocals even - but neither of these things stand out which makes them not very memorable to me I guess.
I guess I sound a bit negative here, but that's not my intention. Because it was a good show, and it's a very nice support band so to say. Nice start of the evening!
 

INSISION
15 years of Insision was the tagline for the night! Third time I see them and expectations were high - because they've really delivered in the past!
They started with a really weird song, I'd expect them to go for the kill at once but instead they went for a technical beast with a lot of "slow" parts (slow in terms of Insision isn't quite the same as slow with other bands, mind you). And as a result the crowd was a bit slow in the start as well (or maybe it was all the Christmas food?). But eventually they upped the speed and the crowd followed along as well - not quite as madly as last time I saw them (that time I somehow ended up getting the setlist after the show and it was splattered with blood from the front rows...) but still decent. I think Tobias Alpadie (doing live guitars with them these days, ex-Miseration member) really did his part with firing up the crowd at least!
Carl, as always, was an excellent frontman. Having been in the band for 12 out of those 15 years he has obviously learnt a thing or two. And he's a funny guy, so it's all good! Speaking of those 3 first years, as an ending to the show they actually brought up 'Barsken' Thornberg their first vocalist to sing a duet with Carl! Nice addition!
One thing I find a bit weird though was that they marketed this gig as their 15-year anniversary gig - and then only played for about 50 minutes. A really short set, so didn't quite get that feeling of 'special' despite the guest vocals for one song! But I guess it's hard to keep it up for much longer than that with this extremely challenging and fast brand of Death Metal... Because it was well played indeed, as always!
Not a bad way to end the concert year indeed. Lets hope they'll play some more shows as it's been a bit sparse lately!
Kommentera inlägget här: