Fagerlund's reviews

Here I will post my reviews, of mostly Metal concerts/festivals that I've been to.

Master + Entrapment + Smothered, Stockholm 7/6-2013

Kategori: Concerts

Smothered
First band of the night was this rather newly formed Death Metal band from Stockholm who'll release their debute album this fall. The promoter said they're influenced by "Entombed, Opeth and Watain". Well, that's an odd combo. I couldn't really tell those influences listening to them though, it was pretty much Stockholm Death Metal straight up in my ears. And nothing bad with that!
They did their thing well, and it sounded quite nice indeed. Really tightly played and quite a lot of groovey parts mixed in with pure brutallity. I quite enjoyed them. Very un-impressed by the staff though... when the drummer knocks a cymbal over in the begining of a song and no-one helps him put it back up so the singer had to do it for him after the song... that's just bad treatment of the band! At least they made the best of it!
 
Entrapment
Netherlands up next on the bill. And more groovey Death Metal. And wow, the band really exploaded on stage. Lots of energy! I felt like it only lasted half the set though, because they kind of slowed down quite a bit for the ending. Great opening though, and also a quite enjoyable set! All though I kind of spaced out after half of it, so I guess it didn't quite hook me.
 
Master
And finally legendary Master. Paul Speckman was really grumpy this night, with technical difficulties and what not. Tuners that stopped working and a bass that refused to stay tuned... perhaps the heat was to blame? In either case, eventually Paul just said "Fuck it, let's go" and there it is. After that they simply went on to crush our ears. It was a long time since I last was at a gig and the volume was this loud... I guess they're so oldschool that they don't care about recent sound regulations at concert venues! 
The set was a nice mix of new and old stuff... I have one complaint though. A drum solo? Really? Not a bad drummer... but not amazing either... so in my mind they might've just gone off the stage for a few mins to rest and come back like all other bands do...
It was nice to see that an oldie like Paul haven't really slowed down one bit either. He has some great dexterity on his bass for sure! Complimented by two younger guys on stage they got quite some energy going. Cool show for sure!
Kommentera inlägget här: